Home > Writing Prompt > Writing Prompt: Cat

Writing Prompt: Cat

I’d like to try something a bit different here at BFL. I woke up in the middle of the night with two rhyming lines that I felt I’d share:

I wonder, what does my cat see
when she stops to look at me?

I’d like to use these lines as a writing prompt to inspire you to complete the poem! It can be as long or as short as you like, rhyming, not rhyming, free verse, whatever floats your boat. Post your results either in the comments section below, or attach a link to your work on your own blog. I look forward to reading what you creative folks come up with! Namaste 🙂

  1. June 20, 2013 at 7:02 AM

    I wonder, what my cat does see
    When she stops to look at me
    Towering there so high above
    Do her eyes hold hate or love?

    Sitting there upon the floor
    Does she know that I adore
    Her soft rumbling purr
    as I stroke her silken fur?

    If her thoughts could be told
    What wonders might they hold
    I wonder, what secret lies
    Behind those slit pupilled eyes?

    She stands and stretches leisurely
    Then calmly walks away from me
    Her thoughts of me she doesn’t show
    So I guess i’ll never know.

    dreamweaver
    june 20, 2013

    • June 20, 2013 at 7:04 AM

      Awesome – great job! Thanks for sharing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Words

